Return to Headlines

2024 Hall of Fame inductees announced

Since its inception in 1998, the Statesmen Sports Hall of Fame has recognized and honored teams and individuals who have distinguished themselves while playing, coaching, or contributing to athletics at Webster Groves High School, the former Douglass High School, or in their collegiate or professional careers.

The next class of inductees to the Webster Groves High School Statesmen Sports Hall of Fame has been selected and are listed below. They will be honored at a banquet to be held Saturday, September 28, 2024, at Westborough Country Club in Webster Groves.  Tickets are now available for purchase online for $60 each.

Jay Blossom was the head boys basketball coach at WGHS for 20 years (1999-2019) compiling a record of 447-122 including 16 seasons with at least 20 wins. His teams won 17 consecutive conference championships, 8 district championships, and 3 state championships in 2008, 2017, and 2018.

Drew Hanlen, Class of 2008, is the all-time leader at WGHS in steals, 3-point FGs made, and scored over 1600 career points. He went on to play collegiate basketball at Belmont and is now the CEO of Pure Sweat Basketball as well as a skills coach and consultant for several NBA players.

Myron Gordon, Class of 1990, is 3rd all-time in WGHS basketball history averaging 17.6 points per game for his career and is 4th all-time in career rebounds for WGHS.  He is also the all-time single season leader in rebounds with 354 in 1990. He went on to play collegiately at TCU.

Paul King, Class of 1987, scored over 1,100 points and averaged 13.5 points per game in his basketball career at WGHS. He went on to Murray State where he also scored over 1,100 career points, was twice named to the OVC all conference team, and was inducted into the Murray State Hall of Fame in 2022.

Jordan Thompson, Class of 2012, is second all-time in career points scored in basketball at WGHS with 1,529 in her four years. Jordan also played at Washington University in St. Louis where she finished her college career as their all-time leader in assists and also ninth all-time in 3-point FGs made. She earned all-conference honors in three of her four years and was 1st Team All-Central Region in her final year.

Amy Hauschild, Class of 1998, was an all-conference athlete in volleyball and basketball at WGHS and continued to excel in both sports at Fontbonne University. For volleyball, she is Fontbonne’s all-time leader in blocks in a season and career. For basketball, she is Fontbonne’s all-time leader in blocked shots, second in rebounds, and 3rd all-time with 15.7 points per game for her career.

Mike Eason, Class of 1985, holds the WGHS all-time record with 21 sacks in a football season and is 3rd all-time for assists in a single basketball season. He earned All-Metro and All-State honors for football and played college football at SEMO.

Martin Eason, Class of 1978, was an undefeated wrestling state champion in the 105 lbs weight class in 1978 with a record of 27-0.

Terrance Randolph, Class of 1990, rushed for 1,437 yards (5th in school history) and scored 134 points (2nd in school history) during his senior football season. Terrance was also a member of the 1988 state champion 4×200 relay team in track.

2008 State Champion Boys Basketball Team, had a record of 29-3 for the season and defeated McCluer North in the final game at Mizzou Arena to win WGHS’s second basketball state championship.

In addition to these individuals and the 2008 state championship basketball team, the Hall of Fame committee will also recognize the following people for special awards:

  • Tyke Yates Good Guy Awards:  Pete Scribner
  • Charles Roberts Coaches Awards: Scott Stallcup
  • Froebel Gaines Family Award: The Nordman Family

Learn more here.