• Statesmen Sports Hall of Fame

    Since its inception in 1998, the Statesmen Sports Hall of Fame has recognized and honored teams and individuals who have distinguished themselves while playing, coaching, or contributing to athletics at Webster Groves High School, the former Douglass High School, or in their collegiate or professional careers.

    The most recent class of inductees to the Webster Groves High School Statesmen Sports Hall of Fame was honored at a banquet on Saturday, October 8, 2022, at Sheraton Westport Chalet in Westport.  The Statesmen Sports Hall of Fame inducted the 2002 WGHS State Championship Football Team during the 20th anniversary of their championship season.  In addition, Coach Cliff Ice and six football alumni were also inducted.  The individual inductees included:

    Cliff Ice, Head Football Coach 1999 – 2019, In his 21 years as the head coach of Statesmen Football, Coach Ice compiled a career record of 151-42. Along the way he led the Statesmen to two Class 5 state championships in 2002 and 2009.  His teams also placed second in the state in Class 5 in 2003 and 2010 and advanced to the state semifinals in 2005 and 2013.

    Billy Beard, Class of 2001, earned football All-Metro and All-State honors at WGHS for his senior season in 2000. From 2002-2005 he played in at least 10 games per season and was a three year defensive starter at Southern Illinois University – Carbondale.  His career totals at SIU included 105 tackles, 21 tackles for loss, and 10 sacks.  In 2003, he led his team in sacks and tackles for loss and earned 2nd Team All-Conference honors.

    David Brader, Class of 1996, played on the WGHS 1996 State Championship Basketball team.  After high school he played collegiately at Missouri State and Lindenwood Universities.  He signed an NFL Contract with the Jacksonville Jaguars in 2005.  Since his playing days, David has coached over 30 All-State kickers and punters, 5 NCAA/NAIA All-Americans, and an NFL Pro Bowl Punter.  He has also coached specialists at Lindenwood University and currently coaches specialists nationally.  He is also a scout for the XFL.

    Adrian Clayborn, Class of 2006, was selected the 2005 Missouri Class 5 and STL Metro football Player of the Year before going on to play at the University of Iowa where he was selected as a First Team All-American and was the MVP of the Orange Bowl in 2010.  In 2011 he was selected in the first round of the NFL Draft Pick by Tampa Bay. Adrian played in the NFL for 10 years and won a Super Bowl Championship in 2019 with the New England Patriots.

    Landen Fitzgerald, Class of 2004, was a member of the 2002 WGHS Football State Championship team as well as the 2003 team that finished as the state runner-up.  Landen was a two-time first team All-State wide receiver in 2002 and 2003.  He is also the all time leader in WG football history in receiving yards for a single season with 1,104 yards in 2003.

    Derrick Ming, Class of 2001, earned football All-Metro and All-State honors at WGHS in 2000.  Derrick has the 5th highest single season rushing yards total in the history of WG football with 1,305 yards in the 2000 season and also has the 5th highest single season scoring total in WG football history with 120 points scored that same season. He went on to play football at the University of Missouri where he was selected as a team captain for his senior season in 2005. That was his best season at linebacker for Mizzou with 81 tackles and 5 tackles for loss. He earned Academic All Big XII Conference honors in 3 straight seasons from 2003-2005.

    Quintin Parker, Class of 1986, earned football All-District honors For WGHS in 1985 before going on to play at the University of Illinois.  During the 1989 season, Quintin had a 100 yard return of a blocked extra point vs. Wisconsin and he earned All-Big 10 Conference Honorable Mention that same season. In 1990, he had a 45 yard touchdown return of blocked field goal vs. Ohio State and had 2 interceptions in his final game for the Illini.

    In addition to these individuals and the 2002 state championship football team, the Hall of Fame committee also recognized the following people for special awards:

    • Tyke Yates Good Guy Awards:  Steve Faulkner and Nathan Young
    • Charles Roberts Coaches Awards: Mike Abegg and Scott Gillilan
    • Froebel Gaines Family Award: Mr. Billy Beard and Family

    Click here for a listing of all previously inducted individuals and teams to the Statesmen Sports Hall of Fame.

    Nominations for future inductions into the Statesmen Sports Hall of Fame are always welcome.  Please send your nominations with as much supporting detail and documentation as possible to the Webster Groves High School Activities Office.

    The current members of the Statesmen Sports Hall of Fame Committee include:
    Jerry Collins, WGHS Activities Director
    David Brader, Class of 1996
    Elizabeth (Spurgin) Brown, Class of 1992
    Cynthia Collier, Class of 1982
    Kelvin Cunningham, Class of 1979
    Elizabeth Fox, WGSD Communications Coordinator
    Shawn Green, Class of 1987
    Andre Nelson, Class of 1980
    Charles Schneider, Class of 1967

    Nominate an alumni into the HOF by emailing Jerry Collins collins.jerry@wgmail.org.  

    Visit our sportsmen at Statesmen Sports